anaturalloveaffair

NaturalHairLove

URGH…Do I have to Trim the Ends!!!

Hey!

Okay so typically my Natural Hair Date (aka Wash Day) is on Saturdays however I went to the salon yesterday (Friday) after work…well everything was going fine and as planned until my stylist said “Shay today I’m going to trim your ends”. As soon as she said trim I thought to myself “Aww damn, why did she say that”. However on the outside I remained calm and cool and was like “oh okay no problem”….but that didn’t matter because my stylist of 14 plus years knows me and knew I was aching on the inside (LOL). So after she gave me a pep talk “Shay its okay I’m not cutting your hair just trimming the ends that are dead, remember we do this ever so often to keep your hair healthy and maintain growth”. Trust, I know how crucial trimming my ends are to attain healthy hair and promote growth but I still get the chills and uneasy feeling at the sight of scissors getting close to my hair (LOL).

So I sat up straight and braced myself and once it was over I did what I typically do, which is look at the floor to see how much of my hair was lying lifeless (LOL) and guess what….it wasn’t much! Ha! my stylist said “see was that hard…no because you take great care of your hair so there wasn’t much dead ends”. My mom was at the salon getting her hair done and all she could do was laugh and shake her head at me but she doesn’t know my pain (LOL). But seriously, I don’t know what it is about trimming my ends that just irritate me however I accept it as a necessity (BOO!) so I brace myself each and every time. The great thing that did come out of the “trimming session” yesterday was that the highlights I got have just about grown out (Yay) and that also means a good amount of my heat damage is also growing out (Oh Yeah), I decided to grow out my heat damage rather than cut it out. So see yesterday’s trim session did have its silver lining…..Go Me, LOL!

Well until next time my loves, which will be when I blog about the changes w/ my daily regimen and the major updates w/ my “I Cannot Natural Hair Without” aka product list….

Wishing you all a Natural Love Affair

Shay

Leave a Reply

